Turner Prize shortlist announced

Estimated reading time: < 1 minute

One of the most important contemporary art awards today, the Turner Prize, organized by Tate Britain, announced the four finalist artists in the 2019 award: Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Helen Cammock, Oscar Murillo and Tai Shani. An exhibition with works by the finalists will be organized in September this year at Margate, for the first time outside the Tate spaces. The winner will be announced on 12/3/19 at a ceremony which will be broadcast live on the BBC.

The Turner Prize was created to promote public debate around new developments in British contemporary art. Established in 1984, the prize is named after the painter JMW Turner (1775-1851), and is given to a British artist for an outstanding presentation of work in the last 12 months. Each finalist receives £5,000, with the winner taking home a prize worth £25,000.

PageReader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support